Dynamic42 GmbH was founded in the spring of 2018 in the high-tech city of Jena and is currently located at the BioInstrumentezentrum on the Beutenberg. The still young company is a spin-off of the University Hospital Jena. We develop and market novel, three-dimensional, human organ models (so-called organ-on-chip technology) for preclinical research and development as well as for testing novel pharmaceutical products, chemicals and food additives.

Dynamic42 GmbH has specialized in the area of organ-on-chip technology in the integration of the immune system, which plays a significant role in the occurence of adverse effects of drugs and has been neglected in the industry and in two-dimensional test systems. Our platform enables toxicity screenings and ADMET studies already in preclinical phases on complex microphysiological models of human organs. Hereby we accompany commercial manufacturers as well as scientists in the field of research and development in the design and execution of preclinical studies.

In addition, we develop human disease models in our chip platform both internally and with external partners – especially in areas where there are no animal models.

Mission

Dynamic42 GmbH wants to contribute to the development and refinement of human, cell-based in vitro test systems so that they can reproduce the physiological situation in the body in a consistent manner. By using our models we want to revolutionize the preclinical phase of drug development. We are specialized in the physiological and miniaturized imaging of human organ functions (development and production of human microenvironments). Through the integration of human immune cells and the replication of blood circulation, we achieve a high degree of model complexity and functionality. With our chip platform, new, innovative possibilities arise to accelerate preclinical and clinical studies, to make human applications safer and to open up new product fields in the field of in-vitro test systems.

Vision

Dynamic42 GmbH will significantly contribute to the economical and resource-saving development of safe pharmaceutical products and product additives for humans. We see our overriding goals in the reduction and replacement of animal experiments in the area of active substance development, the increase of drug safety as well as in the creation and use of personalized human organ models. Our chip platform will make a valuable contribution on this.

Team

Nancy Blaurock
CFO & Administration

Martin Raasch
CEO & Lab Manager

Knut Rennert
CEO & Research and Development

Scientific Advisory Board

  • Alexander Mosig
    Alexander Mosig
  • Michael Bauer
    Michael Bauer
  • Peter Loskill
    Peter Loskill

Die Dynamic42 GmbH wurde im Frühjahr 2018 in der Hochtechnologie-Stadt Jena gegründet und ist zurzeit am BioInstrumentezentrum auf dem Beutenberg ansässig. Das noch junge Unternehmen ist ein Spin-off des Universitätsklinikums Jena. Wir entwickeln und vermarkten neuartige, dreidimensionale, humane Organmodelle (sog. Organ-on-Chip-Technologie) für die präklinische Forschung und Entwicklung als auch für die Prüfung neuartiger pharmazeutischer Erzeugnisse, Chemikalien und Lebensmittelzusätze.

Die Dynamic42 GmbH hat sich im Bereich der Organ-on-Chip-Technologie auf die Integration des Immunsystems spezialisiert, das einen maßgeblichen Anteil bei der Entstehung von Nebenwirkungen hat und in der Branche sowie in zweidimensionalen Testsystemen bisher vernachlässigt wurde. Unsere Plattform ermöglicht Toxizitätsscreenings und ADMET-Studien bereits in präklinischen Phasen an komplexen, mikrophysiologischen Modellen menschlicher Organe. Hiermit begleiten wir kommerzielle Hersteller als auch Wissenschaftler im Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung bei der Ausgestaltung und Durchführung präklinischer Studien.

Darüber hinaus entwickeln wir intern als auch mit externen Kooperationspartnern humane Krankheitsmodelle in unserer Chipplattform – vor allem in Bereichen, in denen es keine Tiermodelle gibt.

Mission

Die Dynamic42 GmbH möchte dazu beitragen, humane, zell-basierte in-vitroTestsysteme zu entwickeln und zu verfeinern, so dass diese die physiologische Situation im Körper übereinstimmend nachbilden können. Durch die Nutzung unserer Modelle wollen wir die präklinische Phase der Wirkstoffentwicklung revolutionieren. Wir sind auf die physiologische und miniaturisierte Abbildung humaner Organfunktionen spezialisiert (Entwicklung und Erstellung humaner Mikroumgebungen, engl. microenvironment). Durch die Integration humaner Immunzellen als auch durch Nachbildung des Blutkreislaufes erreichen wir eine hochgradige Modellkomplexität und -funktionalität. Mit unserer Chipplattform ergeben sich neue, innovative Möglichkeiten präklinische sowie klinische Studien zu beschleunigen, Anwendungen am Menschen sicherer zu gestalten und neue Produktfelder im Bereich der in-vitroTestsysteme zu erschließen.

Vision

Dynamic42 GmbH wird zur ökonomischen und ressourcenschonenden Entwicklung sicherer pharmazeutischer Produkte und Produktzusatzstoffe für den Menschen signifikant beitragen. Unsere übergeordneten Ziele sehen wir in der Reduzierung und den Ersatz von Tierversuchen im Bereich Wirkstoffentwicklung, der Erhöhung der Medikamentensicherheit als auch in der Erstellung und Nutzung von personalisierten humanen Organmodellen. Unsere Chipplattform wird hierzu einen wertvollen Beitrag leisten.

Team

Nancy Blaurock
CFO & Administration

Martin Raasch
CEO & Lab Manager

Knut Rennert
CEO & Research and Development

Wissenschaftlicher Beirat

  • Alexander Mosig
    Alexander Mosig
  • Michael Bauer
    Michael Bauer
  • Peter Loskill
    Peter Loskill